Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /usr/www/users/sabledecep/login_includes/functions.php on line 9 SAB National Champs get underway in Pretoria

SAB National Champs get underway in Pretoria

SAB National Champs get underway in Pretoria

by Staff Reporter

Monday Jun 29, 2015. 09:38

The 2015 SAB League National Championships kick off on Monday 29 June and will continue until 5 July, with all the matches set to take place at the Giant Stadium in Pretoria.

The SAB League has officially marked 15 years of developing and nurturing some of South Africa’s greatest football talent at grassroots level.

South SAB National Championships 2015 Association (SAFA) and South African Breweries (SAB) officially celebrated the milestone, together with Orlando Pirates defender Happy Jele and Bafana Bafana assistant coach Thabo Senong, during the official SAB League National Championships draw, which took place at the SAB World of Beer last week.

The Championship features a team from each of South Africa’s nine provinces, as well as a University Sports SA (USSA) team. The 10 sides have been divided up into two groups of five, with the top two teams from each advancing into the knockout stage.

The group draw is as follows: Group A – Free State, Gauteng, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape and Western Cape. Group B – Eastern Cape, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, North West and USSA.

In 2014, the province of the Free State were crowned SAB League Champions after defeating North West 4-2 in the final.

In previous editions of the SAB League National Championships, stars have been unearthed and have gone on to sign for various National First Division and PSL clubs.

The action gets underway at 10am on Monday morning, with concurrent matches at Giant Stadium 1 & 2 as Northern Cape clash with Gauteng in Group A, while reigning champions Free State Stars take on Mpumalanga in Group B.