Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /usr/www/users/sabledecep/login_includes/functions.php on line 9 Mpumalanga outshine Gauteng

Mpumalanga outshine Gauteng

Mpumalanga outshine Gauteng
Bongumusa Mabuza of Mpumalanga celebrates his goal with his teammates during the mathc between Gauteng (W) and Mpumalanga (G) at the SAB U21 National Championships being held at the North West University Stadium on the 13 July 2014

by Staff Reporter

Sunday Jul 13, 2014. 12:15

Mpumalanga got their SAB Under-21 National Championship off to a winning start when they defeated Gauteng 3-1 on Sunday morning.

Goals from Mfanafuthi Ntozelizwe, Mduduzi Sibeko and Bongumusa Mabuza handed Mpumalanga a healthy lead before the break, before Gauteng pulled one goal back through substitute Kamva Mncinci in the second half.

The match got off to a pacey start and Mpumalanga soon broke the deadlock in the 2nd minute when Ntozelizwe finished from close range following a swift attack.

The lead was doubled seven minutes later as Sibeko buried a first-time shot into the top right corner after he was given too much room on the edge of the penalty area.

Litheko Marago’s side continued to apply the pressure and rightfully extended their advantage in the 20th minute with Mabuza nodding home from inside the box, connecting with Nkosinathi Nkosi’s corner.

Gauteng tried to reduce the deficit after the break but were unable to make the goalkeeper work with Phillip Ndlondlo coming closest on the hour mark as his effort sailed over the crossbar.

They eventually pulled one goal back in the 71st minute as John Ngcemu broke through the defence before unselfishingly laying the ball for Mncinci to sidefoot into an empty net.

Both sides had opportunities in the closing minutes but Mpumalanga managed to close shop to walk away with maximum points.

Gauteng (0) 1 (Mncinci 71’)

Mpumalanga (3) 3 (Ntozelizwe 2’, Sibeko 9’, Mabuza 20’)

Gauteng: Gayi, Molangoane, Seema, Modisane (Boshomane 29’), Ndlondlo, Mbamba, Madilola, Ngcemu, Maredi (Mbatha 75’), Chiya, Watson (Mncinci 29’)

Mpumalanga: Motau, Magagula, Madalane, Nkosi, Sibeko (Phakathi 82’), Dlamini, Vilane, Mabuza W, Mabuza B (Khumalo 61’), Mashau